Tags

, , , , ,

Todd’s Roasted Peppers & Capers Pub Cheese

So  I was in Target food shopping (in Kapolei) and wanted some pimiento cheese spread to go with some nice bread and beer that I’d bought. I couldn’t find pimiento cheese; I couldn’t find pimientos either. I decided to make my own pub cheese instead and I think it turned out pretty awesome. Here’s my recipe and the photo shows it being served with a mix of spicy olives, sweet peppers and marinated artichoke hearts. And crackers. And beer, of course.

546909_10152241478595510_1951672139_nIngredients:

8 oz medium cheddar cheese, freshly grated
2 oz hard Parmesan cheese, freshly grated
1 cup mayonnaise
1/2 jar roasted bell peppers, chopped finely
2 Tablespoons gourmet capers, drained
cayenne pepper
black pepper
sea salt

Grate the cheeses – please don’t buy it in the bag! – and put in a large mixing bowl. Add the mayonnaise, a dash of cayenne pepper, black pepper and sea salt, and mix this up thoroughly. Add a bit more mayonnaise if it seems too dry. Add in the roasted bell peppers and capers and mix very well; I like to use a chopping motion and spin the bowl as I go around. (You’re adding in the peppers and capers after the first mixing so they don’t get pulverized – it takes a good few minutes and some muscle power to get the cheeses and mayo mixed well.)  Like many things we make in our kitchens, this tastes better after it’s sat in the fridge a few hours or overnight. Serve with crackers, hearty toasted bread, pretzels, pita chips, etc. This has strong flavor components – it’s awesome with a hoppy IPA style beer. As always, leave out and/or substitute if you see something in my ingredients list that you’re sure to hate.

First published on my fb November 8, 2012 at 8:07pm